AUGUSTA, Ga. (AP) a' Padraig Harrington was assessed a penalty Saturday for his fall in the second round of the Masters, but wasn't disqualified. Below could be the Masters' statement on the decision: "Yesterday afternoon, the Rules Committee was made aware of a possible Rules violation that included a visit Tiger Woods on the 15th hole. His ball was dropped by "in preparation for his fifth shot, the player in near proximity to where he had performed his next shot in clear conformance with Rule 26. After being prompted with a television audience, the Rules Committee reviewed a movie of the chance while he was playing the 18th hole. At that time and centered on that evidence, the Committee established he'd complied with the Rules. "After he closed his scorecard, and in a television interview subsequent to the round, the ball player mentioned that he played more from the point than where he had played his next shot. Such action would represent playing from the wrong place. "The subsequent data supplied by the player's interview after he'd finished play validated further evaluation and discussion with him this morning. After ending up in the ball player, it was determined that he'd violated Rule 26, and he was examined a two stroke penalty. The punishment of disqualification was waived by the Committee under Rule 33 as the Committee had previously evaluated the data and made its initial determination just before the end of the player's round." a Fred Ridley, Chairman, Competition Committees
No comments:
Post a Comment